Rugby World Cup 2019 summer warm-up matches coming to the UK and Ireland
Philip Mak - July 25, 2019

Rugby World Cup 2019 summer warm-up matches coming to the UK and Ireland

Be there in England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland
Rugby World Cup warm up games

British sports fans have had plenty to cheer about this summer — the Capital hosted its first MLB London Series, England won the Cricket World Cup on home soil and Northern Ireland is hosting the British Open for the first time in 68 years.

Want more? Good, because the 2019 Rugby World Cup warm-up matches are coming to England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland.

The summer internationals fixtures will take place from 10 August to 7 September 2019, with the 20 teams playing in the Rugby World Cup preparing through a series of warm-up matches. England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland will all be participating in four games each, with nine held in the British Isles.

The 2019 Rugby World Cup is subsequently taking place in Japan from 20 September to 2 November, bringing together the planet’s 20 best rugby union teams for a scrum of the highest order — played across 48 matches in 12 locations around the Asian nation. The tournament has been held every four years since 1987, with New Zealand’s All Blacks being the current reigning champions. England has the distinction of being the only team from the Northern Hemisphere to have ever won the prized Webb Ellis Cup.


A post shared by Rugby World Cup 2019 (@rugbyworldcup) on

Keep scrolling to see everything you need to know before you go to the 2019 Rugby World Cup warm-up matches.

Get England rugby tickets.

What is the Rugby World Cup summer warm-up schedule?

The summer internationals warm-up matches for the 2019 Rugby World Cup take place from August to September across the 20 nations participating in the larger tournament. They are preceded by the 2019 Rugby Championship, which includes Southern Hemisphere countries New Zealand, Australia, South Africa and Argentina.

2019 Rugby World Cup warm-up schedule:

  • 10 August — Ireland vs Italy — Aviva Stadium, Dublin
  • 11 August — England vs Wales — Twickenham Stadium, London
  • 17 August — New Zealand vs Australia — Eden Park, Auckland
  • 17 August — South Africa vs Argentina — Loftus Versfeld Stadium, Pretoria
  • 17 August — Italy vs Russia —Stadio Riviera delle Palme, San Benedetto del Tronto
  • 17 August — Wales vs England — Millennium Stadium, Cardiff
  • 17 August — France vs Scotland — Allianz Riviera, Nice
  • 24 August — England vs Ireland — Twickenham Stadium, London
  • 24 August — Scotland vs France — Murrayfield Stadium, Edinburgh
  • 24 August — Canada vs Leinster — Tim Hortons Field, Hamilton
  • 27 August — Georgia vs TBA — Mikheil Meskhi Stadium, Tbilisi
  • 30 August — France vs Italy — Stade de France, Saint-Denis
  • 31 August — Wales vs Ireland — Millennium Stadium, Cardiff
  • 31 August — Georgia vs Scotland — Dinamo Arena, Tbilisi
  • 31 August — Russia vs TBA — TBA
  • 31 August — New Zealand Heartland XV vs Samoa — Eden Park, Auckland
  • 31 August — Fiji vs Tonga — ANZ Stadium, Sydney
  • 6 September — Japan vs South Africa — Kumagaya Rugby Ground, Kumagaya
  • 6 September — England vs Italy — St James’ Park, Newcastle
  • 6 September — Scotland vs Georgia — Murrayfield Stadium, Edinburgh
  • 7 September — New Zealand vs Tonga — Waikato Stadium, Hamilton
  • 7 September — Ireland vs Wales — Aviva Stadium, Dublin
  • 7 September — Australia vs Samoa — Western Sydney Stadium, Parramatta
  • 7 September — Canada vs United States — BC Place, Vancouver
  • 7 September — Uruguay vs Brazil — TBA

A post shared by Scotlandteam (@scotlandteam) on

Who is playing in the 2019 Rugby World Cup?

There are 20 teams from around the globe who qualified for the Rugby World Cup, divided into four pools. Japan is hosting the tournament, making this the first time it has ever taken place in Asia. The opening match will include the home team playing against Russia on Friday 20 September.

The 2019 Rugby World Cup qualifying teams include:

Pool A

  • Ireland
  • Scotland
  • Japan
  • Russia
  • Samoa

Pool B

  • New Zealand
  • South Africa
  • Italy
  • Namibia
  • Canada

Pool C

  • England
  • France
  • Argentina
  • United States
  • Tonga

Pool D

  • Australia
  • Wales
  • Georgia
  • Fiji
  • Uruguay

A post shared by Rugby World Cup 2019 (@rugbyworldcup) on

Who are the favourites to win?

The current Rugby World Cup champions are the New Zealand All Blacks. The legendary team has also won the tournament the most times, having taken home the Webb Ellis Cup in 1987, 2011 and 2015. Australia and South Africa have won the World Cup twice each and England has once.

Having won the last two tournaments, the All Blacks are the favourites to take their third straight World Cup title. The Irish team had been considered strong contenders earlier this year, until their crushing losses to England and Wales in the Six Nations competition.

Wales, led by coach Warren Gatland, has set a new team record this year by winning 14 consecutive matches — ranking them as second in the world after New Zealand. This positions them well to threaten the All Black’s winning streak at the Rugby World Cup, but ultimately it is still anyone’s game.


A post shared by All Blacks (@allblacks) on