McFly reunite with London O2 show, 2021 UK tour and new album
Philip Mak - March 26, 2021

McFly reunite with London O2 show, 2021 UK tour and new album

March 2021 UPDATE. Baby’s Coming Back — and Obviously we know where to get tickets
McFly O2 show in 2021

After performing a one-off London O2 Arena show on 20 November 2019, English rock band McFly is coming back a new album and a UK-wide tour in 2021.

All four original members are onboard and on-stage for the comeback concerts as well, including Tom Fletcher, Danny Jones, Dougie Poynter and Harry Judd. Previously, the group enjoyed seven UK No. 1 singles, five top-10 albums, six sold-out tours and 10 million records sold worldwide.

Clearly fans were saying “Please, Please” for a McFly reunion as the band’s concert at the O2 on 22 November 2019 sold out in minutes. Given the massively positive response, the band decided to extend their comeback into a full 2020 tour. 

In a statement quoted by STV, McFly said, ”The past week it has been incredible to feel so much support for our band after being away for so long. Selling out the O2 so fast has proved, once again, that we have the best fans in the world and we want to play to as many of you as possible. So we are very excited to announce our first arena tour in almost 10 years."

Fans also have new material to look forward to with their upcoming album, The Lost Songs, and a fresh single: “Red". The record gets its name because its content includes unreleased material from 2011 — right before McFly joined forces with fellow British rockers Busted to form the supergroup McBusted.


A post shared by McFly (@mcflymusic)

"McBusted was born and it was way bigger than we anticipated so we shelved the McFly album," the band says according to BBC.

"We put all of our energy into it and it was lost in the abyss of our hard drives. Before we get to the next part in the McFly journey, those songs need to be heard.”

Formed in 2003 and named after Marty McFly from the film “Back to the Future”, the band hasn’t released a new record since Above The Noise in 2010. When they went on hiatus in 2015, their relationships were allegedly more rocky than rock ’n roll — with drummer Harry Judd saying their friendships were “in the worst place they had been in the entire 13 years we’d known each other” according to the Daily Star.

Fortunately, the band is back and stronger than ever. Keep reading for everything you need to know before you go to see McFly on their 2021 UK tour.

Be there: McFly 2021 UK Tour

McFly fast facts

  • Formed: 2003
  • Group members: Tom Fletcher (lead vocals, guitar, and piano), Danny Jones (lead vocals, harmonica, and guitar), Dougie Poynter (bass guitar), Harry Judd (drums)
  • Number of studio albums: 6 released
  • Musical style: Pop rock
  • Record sales: 10 million worldwide 
  • Most famous singles: “5 Colours in Her Hair”, “Obviously”, “That Girl”, “All About You”, “You’ve Got a Friend”, “I’ll Be OK”, “Don’t Stop Me Now”, “Please, Please”, “Star Girl”, “Baby’s Coming Back”, “Transylvania”, “Shine a Light”, “Lies”, "Happiness"

Did McFly release a new album?

Yes, McFly have initially released promotional material and two new songs, “Red” and “Touch the Rain”, later included in the 2020 collection "The Lost Songs". They also released their sixth studio album "Young Dumb Thrills" in July 2020 with three brand new singles: "Happiness", "Growing Up" and "Tonight is The Night".




A post shared by McFly (@mcflymusic) on

What are McFly’s 2021 UK tour dates?

McFly will launch their 2021 tour on 14 September in Brighton ending on 29 September in Nottingham. They also will perform a special one-off show at the O2 in London on 21 November.

Clearly the boys have been keen to get back on the road and ride the millennial nostalgia wave, with bass guitarist Dougie Poynter telling The Sun: "McFly is my identity, I have been Dougie from McFly longer than I haven't, I love that and it never gets boring. It's good to know that people still care — I like that.”

This is seconded by lead singer Tom Fletcher, who said, “Something we all love – touring in the past for us has been the thing we look forward to the most and something I can't wait to show my kids what that's like.”

He continues, ”Coming down to the venues and hanging out, and seeing catering, the dressing room, coming on stage for the soundcheck ... That's going to be an amazing new experience for us all who have kids. Performing live in front of your fans is the best experience ever, with your best friends on stage – you cannot beat that experience. I can't wait for that.”




A post shared by McFly (@mcflymusic) on

McFly 2021 tour dates (rescheduled from 2020):

  • 14 September — Brighton Centre, Brighton
  • 15 September — Bournemouth International Centre, Bournemouth
  • 16 September — Motorpoint Arena, Cardiff
  • 18 September — SSE Wembley Arena, London
  • 19 September — Resorts World Arena, Birmingham
  • 21 September — Utilita Arena, Newcastle
  • 22 September — First Direct Arena, Leeds
  • 23 September — Manchester AO Arena, Manchester
  • 26 September — SSE Hydro, Glasgow
  • 28 September — Echo Arena, Liverpool
  • 29 September — Motorpoint Arena, Nottingham
  • 21 November — London, The O2

How to get McFly tickets?

Tickets for the McFly’s UK tour, previously set to spring 2020, went on sale Friday September 20 2019. Don’t worry — with StubHub you can still get tickets at any time as you approach the event date. Plus, rock out with no hidden charges and real customer support seven days a week. 

Get McFly tickets