Lana Del Rey: 2020 UK tour announced and new album coming this month
Philip Mak - August 07, 2019

Lana Del Rey: 2020 UK tour announced and new album coming this month

Forget your Summertime Sadness — Norman Fucking Rockwell is almost here
Lana del Rey

Lana Del Rey has announced a four-date UK stadium tour that will bring her Lust For Life to London, Birmingham, Manchester and Glasgow in 2020.

British fans have even more to celebrate — the “Video Games” singer-songwriter is also releasing her next album, Norman Fucking Rockwell, this month on 30 August. 

As if that wasn’t enough, the smoky-voiced Yank caused quite a stir this week on Instagram by posting a video of her new track “Looking for America” just hours after penning it. The song was a response to last weekend’s mass shootings in Texas and Ohio, with the lyrics going, "One without the guns, the flag can freely fly. No bombs in the sky, only fireworks and you and I”. 


A post shared by Lana Del Rey (@lanadelrey) on

Speaking to her 13.5 million followers, the caption of Lana Del Rey’s Instagram post read: “Now I know I’m not a politician and I’m not trying to be so excuse me for having an opinion- but in light of all of the mass shootings and the back to back shootings in the last couple of days which really affected me on a cellular level I just wanted to post this video that our engineer Laura took 20 minutes ago. I hope you like it. I’m singing love to the choruses I recorded this morning. I’m going to call it ‘Looking for America’”

Heavy stuff, but that’s what fans have come to know, love and expect from Del Rey. She has become iconic for her reverence of mid-century Americana, and lyrical themes of tragic romance and glamour — having emerged as one of the most influential singer-songwriters of her generation. This is especially true here in the UK, where she has had three albums reach No. 1 on the charts: Born To Die, Ultraviolence and Lust For Life.

Feel like Lana Del Rey is your National Anthem? Keep reading for everything you need to now before you go to see her Norman Fucking Rockwell Tour in the UK in 2020.

Be there: Lana Del Rey 2020 UK tour

Fast facts

  • Hometown: New York City
  • Real name: Elizabeth Woolridge Grant
  • Number of albums: 5 released, 1 upcoming 
  • Musical style: Indie pop, rock
  • Most famous singles: “Born to Die”, “Young and Beautiful”, “Summertime Sadness”, “Video Games”, “Ride”, “High by the Beach”

A post shared by Lana Del Rey (@lanadelrey) on

What are Lana Del Rey’s UK tour dates?

Lana Del Rey announced her Norman Fucking Rockwell Tour this month, which will take her across North America in 2019 and Europe in 2020. Fortunately for British fans, the “Blue Jeans” singer will also be playing four stadium shows in the UK.

Lana Del Rey UK tour dates:

  • 25 February — The O2 Arena, London
  • 26 February — Manchester Arena, Manchester
  • 28 February — SSE Hydro, Glasgow
  • 29 February — Resorts World Arena, Birmingham

When is the release date for Norman Fucking Rockwell? 

Norman Fucking Rockwell will be Lana Del Rey’s sixth studio album and is set for release on 30 August 2019. The record has already produced four singles including "Mariners Apartment Complex”, "Venice Bitch”, "Hope Is a Dangerous Thing for a Woman Like Me to Have – but I Have It” and "Doin' Time”.

Speaking about the album, NME quotes Del Rey as saying, “Working with Jack [Antonoff], I was in a little bit of a lighter mood because he was so funny. So the title track is called ‘Norman Fucking Rockwell’ and it’s kind of about this guy who is such a genius artist but he thinks he’s the shit and he knows it and he, like, won’t shut up talking about it.”

Del Rey first hinted she was working on the record in January 2018 and confirmed by September of that year that it was nearly complete. She revealed the release date, track list and album art on 31 July 2019 — with the cover’s photography shot by the singer’s sister, Chuck Grant. It features Del Rey and Duke Nicholson, actor Jack Nicholson’s grandson, on a sailboat with the writing in a comics-style font.


A post shared by Lana Del Rey (@lanadelrey) on

What is the Norman Fucking Rockwell track list?

The track list for Norman Fucking Rockwell was announced on 31 July 2019, and will feature the four singles that have already been released. 

Norman Fucking Rockwell track list: 

  1. “Norman fucking Rockwell”
  2. “Mariners apartment complex”
  3. “Venice bitch”
  4. "Fuck it I love you”
  5. “Doin' Time”
  6. “Love song"
  7. “Cinnamon Girl”
  8. “How to disappear”
  9. “California"
  10. “The Next Best American Record”
  11. “The greatest”
  12. “Bartender”
  13. “Happiness is a butterfly”
  14. “hope is a dangerous thing for a woman like me to have — but I have it”

A post shared by Lana Del Rey (@lanadelrey) on

Does Lana Del Rey support Scottish independence?

Lana Del Rey sparked a debate about Scottish independence when she posted a map showing her 2020 UK tour dates on social media. Notably, her depiction of Britain featured water separating England from Scotland — leading many to believe she was subtly commenting on the Northern country’s separation.

According to The Scotsman newspaper, Jordan Daly tweeted: "Did Lana Del Rey just unilaterally declare Scottish Independence?” 

Fellow tweeter Colin Macfarlane (bag)piped in: "Constitutional Confusion. The new album from Lana Del Rey. Out soon.”

Notably, Del Rey’s map was missing Wales, the Western Isles, Orkney and Shetland so clearly the geopolitical complexities of our country, not to mention basic cartography, were perhaps not on her graphic designer’s priority list.