Foo Fighters UK tour 2018: all the dates and latest news
Staff writer - October 17, 2017

Foo Fighters UK tour 2018: all the dates and latest news

UPDATE: Band cancels US dates due to 'family emergency', extend Concrete and Gold tour
Foo Fighters

Foo Fighters fans may have been left disappointed in 2017 after the band’s tour featured only two dates in the UK - a sold-out show at London's O2 Arena and Glastonbury (both notoriously hard to get tickets for). But being the crowd-pleasers they are, the Foo Fighters has followed up with new UK dates for 2018 in Manchester and London.

Here’s everything you need to know about the Foo Fighters tour 2018 - including UK dates and venues - as well as a complete guide to their new album ‘Concrete and Gold’.

Foo Fighters UK tour 2018 cities and dates

After a series of cryptic Twitter posts of each band member in front of a Union Jack (à la UK punk band the Sex Pistols) drove Foo Fighters fans wild with anticipation, the band finally announced a UK tour.

While the ‘Concrete and Gold Tour’ is scheduled to end in March 2018 - with UK and Europe shows having taken place in summer 2017 - Foo Fighters are already gearing up to return (what do you expect from a band that continues performing despite the lead singer breaking his leg).

Here are the dates for the Foo Fighters UK tour 2018:

  • Manchester (UK), June 19
  • London (UK), June 22 & 23

No further European dates have been announced for 2018.

After all three stadium dates sold out in just four hours - an impressive 200,000 tickets - Foo Fighters frontman Dave Grohl posted a message to fans thanking them for all their support and promised an incredible show.

Foo Fighters were forced to cancel a several US dates due to an unspecified "family emergency". The band initially cancelled just one show, but later had to axe concerts in Lexington, Nashville and Memphis. All cancelled gigs are to be rescheduled. 

This is unlikely to affect the tour as a whole as the rockers also extended the US leg of the Concrete and Gold tour into 2018, finishing at the end of July 2018.

There is plenty of space in their tour schedule to announce further UK and Europe dates.

Setlist and support acts for Foo Fighters UK shows

While there’s no telling what the setlist will be for the Foo Fighters’ 2018 shows, it’s safe to say they’ll be performing similar songs to the 2017 tour - featuring many tracks from new album ‘Concrete and Gold’.


A post shared by Foo Fighters (@foofighters) on

Here’s an average setlist from the Foo Fighters’ 2017 tour to give you an idea of what to expect in 2018:

  1. I'll Stick Around
  2. Learn to Fly
  3. All My Life
  4. The Pretender
  5. The Sky Is a Neighborhood
  6. Big Me
  7. Run
  8. My Hero
  9. La Dee Da
  10. Walk
  11. Cold Day in the Sun
  12. Rope
  13. These Days
  14. Times Like These
  15. Congregation
  16. Sunday Rain
  17. Monkey Wrench
  18. Breakout
  19. Dirty Water
  20. Everlong
  21. Best of You

The last time the Foo Fighters played in the UK, they were supported by British punk band IDLES and during the show welcomed 80s pop star Rick Astley on stage to perform. There is currently no official news on the 2018 opening act.

Foo Fighters’ new album ‘Concrete and Gold’ - the complete guide

The Foo Fighters scored their fourth number one album in the UK with the release of ‘Concrete and Gold’. It was the band’s second number one album in their native US. The album features collaborations with Justin Timberlake and Paul McCartney.

MORE: Justin Timberlake UK tour 2018 - what we know so far...

The first single released from the album was ‘Run’. The video - which was directed by the band’s lead singer and songwriter Dave Grohl - sees the Foo Fighters as older versions of themselves in a nursing home. The idea for the video came about when drummer Taylor Hawkins expressed that he felt a little uncomfortable promoting the new album now they are visibly older.

Next came ‘The Sky Is A Neighbourhood’. The song apparently came about late into the album’s production after Grohl felt inspired to write about the Earth’s relationship with the universe. The video for the track features Dave Grohl's real-life daughters.

Shortly before the album’s release, ‘The Line’ was released as the third and final single. There is no official music video for the track.

Later, an unused track from 'Concrete and Gold' called 'Soldier' was released as part of the compilation album '7 inches for Planned Parenthood'. Proceeds from the album go towards the organisation - which offers basic healthcare and sex education in the US - as its funding is currently under threat of being pulled by the US government.

The band also released a fun animated making-of video to support the new album. In it, Dave Grohl explains how he got all the talent together on the album, from producer Greg Kurstin (responsible for hit albums by Sia and Adele) to Justin Timberlake.

Stay tuned to LineUP for more news on the Foo Fighters UK tour 2018.