Def Leppard UK tour 2018: all you need to know
Staff writer - July 03, 2018

Def Leppard UK tour 2018: all you need to know

UPDATE: Er... looks like you can get Def Leppard shoes now. And they are FIRE!
Def Leppard UK tour 2018

Hard-rocking legends Def Leppard are set to perform their seminal album 'Hysteria' in its entirety on their UK tour this December.

NEW:  Er... looks like you can get Def Leppard shoes now. And they are FIRE!

This will be the first Def Leppard tour in the UK and Ireland since they sold out arenas in 2015.

Here’s everything you need to know about the Def Leppard UK tour 2018, where they’re playing and a nostalgic look at their HUGE back catalogue of hits.

Def Leppard UK tour dates 2018: when does the Hysteria begin?


A post shared by Def Leppard (@defleppard) on

Def Leppard’s 'Hysteria' tour will include a return to Sheffield for a homecoming show, and their first ever concert at The O2 Arena in London.


A post shared by Def Leppard (@defleppard) on

Here’s the complete list of Def Leppard UK tour dates for December 2018:

  • Dublin, 3 Arena (Ireland) - December 1
  • Belfast, The SSE Arena (Ireland) - December 2
  • Cardiff, Motorpoint Arena (UK) - December 4
  • London, The O2 Arena (UK) - December 6
  • Nottingham, Motorpoint Arena (UK) - December 8
  • Newcastle, Metro Radio Arena (UK) - December 9
  • Glasgow, The SSE Hydro Arena (UK) - December 11
  • Manchester Arena (UK) - December 12
  • Sheffield, FlyDSA Arena (UK) - December 14
  • Liverpool Echo Arena (UK) - December 15
  • Birmingham Arena (UK) - December 17

Fancy a bit of Def Leppard this year? Pack out your 2018 hard-rocking live music calendar with Queen + Adam Lambert and Download Festival as well.

Bassist Rick “Sav” Savage said of the UK tour, “After many requests from fans in the UK, I'm delighted that we can bring the whole ‘Hysteria’ album to arenas across Britain and Ireland later this year.

“From 'Women' to 'Love and Affection' plus many other faves thrown in for good measure. Oh, and our old pals Cheap Trick will be there also to help with the celebrations!! We can't wait.”

Def Leppard support act 2018

The UK tour will follow on from Def Lappard's huge 58-date North American tour with Journey, which starts in the summer.

Def Leppard's UK concerts will be supported by Cheap Trick.

Def Leppard setlist and a look back at ‘Hysteria’


A post shared by Def Leppard (@defleppard) on

Def Leppard’s 2018 tour will see the band play their best-selling album ‘Hyseteria’ in its entirety, which suggests the setlist should match the tracklist:

  1. Women
  2. Rocket
  3. Animal
  4. Love Bites
  5. Pour Some Sugar on Me
  6. Armageddon It
  7. Gods of War
  8. Don't Shoot Shotgun
  9. Run Riot
  10. Hysteria
  11. Excitable
  12. Love and Affection

However, we guess they’ll throw in a few other hits including 'Rock Of Ages' and 'Photograph' from their album 'Pyromania'.

Def Leppard were considered to be the champions of punk rock and new wave music.

They’ve enjoyed a music career that’s spanned over 35 years, releasing 11 studio albums (the most recent being self-titled album ‘Def Leppard’ in 2015).

Hysteria was Def Leppard’s fourth album, topping both the UK and US album charts, going 12x platinum. The album had seven hit singles including ‘Pour Some Sugar On Me’, ‘Love Bites’ and ‘Animal’.

The album is also notable for the fact that drummer Rick Allen lost his arm during the recording. Allen continued to play for the band, instead using his feet to do what his left arm would have done.

And there's even more good news for Def Leppard fans! The band recently announced their entire back catalogue of music is now available to stream and download across all digital platforms.


A post shared by Def Leppard (@defleppard) on

Def Leppard’s digital song sales jumped 1,422% on the first day of the digital release, with audio streams rising 379%.

Ahead of Def Leppard's UK tour, the band is also set to release a career-spanning series of box sets.


A post shared by Def Leppard (@defleppard) on

Def Leppard's 'Volume One' will include the UK rockers' first four albums 'On Through The Night', 'High 'n' Dry', 'Pyromania' and 'Hysteria' - available in either eight-LP or seven-CD collections.

The box set - which also features a book and written introductions from the band themselves - is due to drop on June 1.

Release dates for the next three volumes have yet to be revealed, but we expect them to emerge in the run up to Def Leppard's UK tour dates in December 2018.

Def Leppard beer will be available on the tour

Def Leppard and Elysian Brewery have teamed up to offer fans a Def Leppard beer.

Def Leppard Pale Ale will be on offer at select dates on the band's North American tour, but it has yet to be announced if it'll make it's way over to the UK leg.

However the band could partner with a UK brewery to release an entirely new beer for the December concerts.

Singer Joe Elliott told Billboard he was a big fan of the Def Leppard beer and not simply because it was named after the band.

He joked, "We're not going to drink it just because we put our name on it. I don't walk around wearing our f**king t-shirt.”

Def Leppard are not the first rock stars to offer their own beer on tour.

Prior to his intimate London concerts earlier this year, Jack White performed an impromptu set at a pub where his 'Humoresque' beer - named after a track on his new album - was sold.

MORE: Jack White UK tour 2018: singer extends UK tour beyond London

Def Leppard shoes - the band memorabilia you had no idea you needed

Following in the footsteps of hip-hop stars like Jay-ZKendrick Lamar and even comedian Kevin Hart, Def Leppard have built on their growing line of merchandise with FOUR new trainer designs.

The band teased the new sneaker collaboration on their social media pages with the 'Pour Some Sugar On Me' lyrics "step inside, walk this way..." before revealing the designs.


A post shared by Def Leppard (@defleppard) on

The Def Leppard shoes - made by US sneaker company Six Hundred Four - are based on hit albums 'On Through The Night', 'Pyromania' and 'Hysteria', with the fourth design bearing the band's classic logo.

A signed boxset of all four designs is also available. 

Def Leppard new album 2018


A post shared by Def Leppard (@defleppard) on

Def Leppard have officially confirmed there's a new album on the way.

While there are no specific details as of yet, singer Joe Elliott said that although the band are all currently working on their own projects, they are likely to come together to write the band's twelfth studio album after the UK tour.

He told iHeart Radio's 106.7 The Eagle, "When this tour's done and we've got a bit of downtime, we'll probably have all collected, individually written bits and bobs for what will be the next Def Leppard record.

"We share them with each other and go, 'Oh. Alright. What would happen if we do this with that one and blah, blah, blah' and all of sudden we'll have every bit of half an album written."

RELATED: Queen + Adam Lambert tour 2018: UK dates, venues and more

Stay tuned to LineUp for more on the Def Leppard 2018 UK tour and all the latest UK concert news.